top of page

One year of motherhood / Un año de maternidad

I'm one of those people who think there is a perfect time for all. That, if you seek, if you trust and wait, things happen. Miracles happen. I remember it was my husband's birthday and I was all day with a little voice in my mind telling me to do the test. It was the fourth time I did a pregnancy test. I remember being in the office bathroom when I did it. I felt a myriad of emotions when I saw the positive result: fear, happiness, gratefulness. Nine months later, during my birthday, I left the office with contractions and two days later had a beautiful and healthy baby in my arms.

At that moment my life took an 180-degree turn. Many things changed: I stop working to take care of the baby for a while; we sold our belongings and moved to Houston with no relatives or friends close; the daily routine changed. You listen others moms talking about how a baby changes their life and how beautiful and exhausting it can be to care for a baby. The truth is that even if you try to imagine or think you know what you're getting into, you do not know. You will not know until you have that child in your arms.

These have been the most beautiful 17 months of my life. I have had days when they are barely 3:00 pm and I don't see the time pass. Days when I can't go to the bathroom in peace. Days when cooking a meal could take hours. Days when going to take a shower late at night and just when I go into the bathtub Yassin wakes up and just wants/needs me. Days when even feeling sick I have to run, jump, sing, feed, and calm a person who expects everything from me. Days when I felt overwhelmed and scared to know that a person is totally dependent on me. What makes all this beautiful? His smile when he wakes up and sees my face; his eyes full of tenderness; his little arms around my neck; his warm little body sleeping on mine; his voice when says "mama"; how gently he takes my face in his hands to give me wet kisses; his genuine laughter; his improvised dances; that unique connection between us; watch him grow and learn; that my body is able to feed him, comfort him, reassure him.

The blessing and the great responsibility to raise a child could also be scary. He began to imitate everything we do. We could believe that there is no one more imperfect than us but this little human is watching us as we are perfect. How he relates to the world, how he handles his emotions, how he sees himself and others. He will learn all from me and his father. Being a mother changed the way of I see and think motherhood. It made me evaluate myself as a human being, a woman, and a mother. I asked myself what I want for me, for my family, for my baby. If I want that my baby grows to be an adult with certain values and attitudes, I have to be an example of those values and attitudes. I should be who I want him to be. It is difficult and I make mistakes every day, but every day I try again. He worth it all!

Aidimar and Yassin in the park.

--------------------

Soy de las personas que piensan que hay un tiempo perfecto para todo. Que, si buscas, si confías y esperas, las cosas pasan. Los milagros ocurren. Y así paso, Mi esposo cumplía años y recuerdo que estuve todo el día con una inquietud y algo que me decía que me hiciera la prueba. Era la cuarta vez que me hacía una prueba de embarazo. Recuerdo que estaba en el baño de la oficina cuando me hice la prueba casera. Sentí un sinnúmero de emociones al ver que el resultado era positivo: miedo, felicidad, agradecimiento. Nueve meses después, justo el día de mi cumpleaños, me fui de la oficina con contracciones y a los dos días tenía un hermoso y saludable bebé entre mis brazos.

En ese momento mi vida dio un giro de 180 grados. Muchas cosas cambiaron: deje de trabajar para cuidar del bebe un tiempo; vendimos nuestras pertenencias y nos mudamos de PR a Houston donde no teníamos ni familiares ni amigos; toda la rutina diaria cambió. Siempre podrás escuchar a otras madres hablar sobre cómo un bebé cambia tu vida y lo hermoso y agotador que puede ser cuidar de un bebé. La verdad es que por más que te digan y trates de imaginar, y creas que sabes en lo que te estas metiendo, no lo sabes. No sabrás hasta que tengas a esa criatura en tus brazos.

Estos han sido los 17 meses más hermoso de mi vida. He tenido días en los que apenas son las 3:00 pm y yo no veo que el reloj avance. Días en los que no puedo ir al baño tranquila. Días en los que cocinar una comida me toma horas. Días en los que voy a tomar la ducha tarde en la noche y justo cuando voy a entrar en ella Yassin despierta y solo me quiere a mí. Días en los que sintiéndome enferma tengo que correr, brincar, cantar, alimentar, acariciar y calmar a una persona que lo espera todo de mí. Días en los que me sentí abrumada, asustada al saber que una persona depende totalmente de mí. ¿Qué tiene todo esto de hermoso? Su sonrisa al despertar y ver mi rostro; sus miradas llenas de ternura; sus pequeños brazos alrededor de mi cuello; su tibio cuerpecito durmiendo sobre el mío; su voz cuando dice "mama"; la forma en que delicadamente toma mi cara entre sus manos y me acerca a él para darme un beso húmedo; su risa tan genuina; sus bailes improvisados; la conexión tan única que hay entre nosotros; verlo crecer y aprender; que mi cuerpo sea capaz de alimentarlo, calmarlo, darle seguridad.

Tener la bendición y la gran responsabilidad de criar un niño también puede ser aterrador. Verlo crecer y que comience a imitar todo lo que haces como si todo fuera correcto, pero tú puedes creer que eres el ser más imperfecto del mundo. Cómo se relaciona con el mundo, cómo maneja sus emociones, cómo se ve a sí mismo y a los demás. Todo lo aprende de mí y de su padre y me lo recuerda cuando trata de imitarnos en lo que hacemos. Ser madre cambió mi forma de ver y pensar la maternidad. Me hizo autoevaluarme como ser humano, mujer, y, ahora, madre. Me pregunté qué era lo que quería para mí, para mi familia, para mi bebé. Me cuestione los métodos de crianza tradicionales. Si quiero que mi bebé de adulto tenga ciertos valores, ciertas actitudes, yo debo tenerlas ahora. Debo ser quien quiero que él sea. Es difícil y cometo errores a diario, pero a diario vuelvo a intentarlo porque él lo vale todo.

Aidimar y Yassin at the Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens

bottom of page