top of page

The sense of guilt / Esa bendita culpa

Does this happen to you? Everything is going well and suddenly... There it is! The guilt, the feeling that something is wrong. Perhaps, we do not do enough, or on the other side, we exaggerate doing something. How often we passed judgment on ourselves? Are we fair to ourselves? As mothers, how critical we are with us? Women can be very hard passing judgment on ourselves, I assure you!

Since I had my baby 10 months ago, I dedicated myself to take care of him. I never thought I would enjoy so much being a mom. I never thought about quitting work for some reason. However, when my baby was born, I knew I wanted to be with him. I wanted to be the one to look after him, the one to calm him down when needed and to see him reach those big milestones of childhood. Every time I thought I had to leave my baby in a child care center, I began to cry. Yes, cry. I felt this great attachment to him. He looked so small, helpless, and attached to me that the only thing my mind and heart said was: "He needs me." Then my husband and I decided that I would stay at home taking care of the baby at least during his first year. That calmed me down a lot. Until one day I began to feel guilty for myself.

Aidimar and Yassin at Discovery Green.

Why had I stopped working? I was not making money. I was not growing professionally. I was not having "success". Guilt consumed me. Why did this happen? Why my mind was still struggling? I was where I wanted to be. I made the decision. Why was I so hard on myself?

Did it happen to you? The truth is that I have these ideas and stereotypes of the roles to be performed by a woman: woman, wife, mother, professional, friend, housewife, leader, etc., etc. Ideas and stereotypes based on what society expects of me as a woman or what I thought the closest people to me expected of me. I was thinking that a woman should be and could do everything at the same time. I still believe that, but also believe that there will be some parts of your life will be sacrificed. But what happened if I want to concentrate in one or two areas/roles of my life. Was that wrong? My judgment about myself was not at all fair. It was not based on what I believed and wanted, but on what I thought others expected of me. Wow! It was as if I were carrying a heavy luggage, but with things that I do not need. So, I started to go over the things I was carrying on and left out all those prejudices, stereotypes, and perspectives that no longer belong to the life I wanted.

I learned that no matter if you work outside the home, from home or are dedicated to your children, motherhood should be something to enjoy it, love it and celebrate it. We do not have to be or do everything at once. Not even have to be or do everything at all. We need to recognize and value what we do because, without any doubt, we do it for love.

--------------------

¿No les ha pasado? Todo marcha bien y de momento... ahí está! La culpa, ese sentimiento de que algo hicimos mal o no hicimos nada. Tal vez, no hicimos lo suficiente o, por el contrario, se nos pasó la mano. ¿Cuántas veces pasamos juicio sobre nosotras mismas? ¿Estaremos siendo justas cuando lo hacemos? Como madres, ¿cuán críticas somos con nosotras? Las mujeres podemos ser muy severas pasando juicio sobre nosotras mismas, eso se los aseguro!

Hace diez meses que tuve a mi bebé y desde entonces me he dedicado a su cuidado. Jamás pensé que disfrutaría tanto ser mamá. Nunca antes había pensado en dejar de trabajar por algún motivo. Sin embargo, cuando nació mi bebé supe que quería estar con él. Quería ser yo la que lo cuidara, la que lo calmara cuando lo necesitara, la que lo viera alcanzar esos grandes logros de la infancia. Cada vez que pensaba en que tenía que dejar a mi bebé en un centro de cuidado infantil comenzaba a llorar. Sí, llorar. Sentía un apego tan grande a hacia él. Lo veía tan pequeño, indefenso, y apegado a mí que lo único que mi mente y corazón decían era: “él me necesita”. Entonces, mi esposo y yo decidimos que me quedaría en casa cuidando del bebé al menos durante su primer año. Eso me tranquilizó mucho. Hasta que un día comencé a sentirme culpable conmigo misma.

Aidimar and Yassin at Discovery Green.

¿Por qué había dejado de trabajar? No estaba ganando dinero. No estaba creciendo profesionalmente. No estaba teniendo "éxito". La culpa me consumía. ¿Por qué me pasaba esto? ¿Por qué mi mente seguía batallando? Yo estaba donde quería estar. Yo tomé la decisión. ¿Por qué era tan dura conmigo misma?

¿Les ha pasado? La verdad es que cargaba con ideas y estereotipos de los roles que debe ejercer una mujer: mujer, esposa, madre, profesional, amiga, hija, ama de casa, líder, etc., etc. Ideas y estereotipos basados en lo que la sociedad espera de una como mujer o lo que pensaba que las personas más cercanas esperaban de mí. Pensaba que una mujer debe ser y puede hacer todo al mismo tiempo. Todavía creo eso, pero también creo que habrá partes de tu vida que serán sacrificadas en el camino. Entonces, ¿qué pasa si quiero concentrarme en una o dos áreas/roles de mi vida? ¿Está mal? No estaba siendo justa conmigo misma. Mi juicio no se basaba en lo que yo creía y quería en ese momento, sino en lo que pensaba que los demás esperaban de mí. Wow! Era como si estuviera cargando un equipaje lleno, pero con cosas que no necesitaba. Así que comencé a revisar ese equipaje y a sacar todos los prejuicios, estereotipos e ideas que ya no pertenecían a la vida que quería.

Aprendí que no importa si trabajamos fuera de casa, desde casa o nos dedicamos a nuestros hijos, la maternidad debe ser para disfrutársela, amarla y celebrarla. No tenemos que ser/hacer todo a la vez. Ni siquiera tenemos que ser/ hacer todo. Debemos dar reconocimiento y valor a lo que hacemos porque, sin duda alguna, lo hacemos por amor.

bottom of page